2015 Holiday Gift Guide Part Two

k9a8_k9a8MarvelGiarrussoChristmasCard

Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.

2015 Holiday Gift Guide Part Two – Dungeon Dungeon Picks
All of these sweet books are available at both DD and SHQ!


THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY BY KATE BEATON
SCHOLASTIC
$15
“A pony with a tooting issue. A pony with a lazy eye. A pony that is too small. A pony that is too round. The Greatest Warrior of all warriors! You know it. For the reader that enjoys giant laughs. And farts.” – David


FABLE COMICS
FIRST SECOND
$20
“A striking collection of creators gather to retell and embellish much beloved fables from Aesop and beyond! Behold, the joy of leasons learned through the pens of greats like Tom Gauld, Jaime Hernandez, Mark Newgarden, James Kochalka, Eleanor Davis, and Sophie Goldstein (to name a few.) For the grown up that has had read those other kids books a few too many times to their children.” – David


YOU ARE A KITTEN! BY SHERWIN TIJA
CONUNDRUM PRESS
$20
“You are a little, nameless kitten in the world of a Choose-Your-Own-Adventure. Hours and hours of entertainment! Are you going follow the blonde human or the brunette human? What do you do? WHAT DO YOU DO?” – Quinn


OUR EXPANDING UNIVERSE BY ALEX ROBINSON
TOP SHELF
$20
“Single. Married. Married with kids…the grass is always greener. Robinson has the amazing ability to make the smallest decisions in our lives feel big and the biggest moments feel intimate. There’s a giant universe out there. Stop being self-centered. Buy this book!” – Quinn


DRESSING BY MICHAEL DEFORGE
KOYAMA PRESS
$20
“Other worldly collection of short stories by Michael Deforge. For the person that thinks they have seen it all and have it all. False. Fool. Truly jaw-droppingly nutty images, stories and ideas. It’s the gift that causes eyeballs to melt. Recommended.” – David


THE DIVINE BY LAVIE, HANUKA, & HANUKA
FIRST SECOND
$20
“Holy moly, these kids are terrifying. This is a story that hooks you immediately and drops you into a war torn country run by 10 year olds who smoke cigarettes and may be able to do actual magic. I have no idea what to compare this to…just read it!” – Quinn


THE PRIVATE EYE BY BRIAN K. VAUGHAN & MARCOS MARTIN
IMAGE COMICS
$50
“Marcos Martin’s art looks even better when you don’t have to stare at a computer screen. Once only available digitally, this hardcover edition also includes the original pitch document and emails between Vaughan and Martin about what they are striving to make. Get some awesome insight into how something this epic goes from just an idea to a book you can hold in your hands. Beautiful and badass sci-fi noir.” – Quinn

Stay tuned for part three…
-SHQ-

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, stuff we love

Mitch Tote Bags

IMG_4692
Let Mitch help you schelp around your comics, groceries, records, toys, or anything you want! Art by the very talented Andrew Brandou.

Mitch totes are available in the shop and our online store. Through the holidays, get a free Mitch tote when you spend $50 or more!
IMG_4688

IMG_4690

Don’t forget, Mitch is also starring in a line of shirts for grown ups:
IMG_1757and kids!
IMG_1733

Through the holidays, get a free Mitch kid’s shirt when you buy 5 or more all ages graphic novels!

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, SHQ Publishing, stuff we love

2015 Holiday Gift Guide Part One


Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.

2015 Holiday Gift Guide Part One – Julie, Malachi, & Lee’s Picks


LOSE #7 BY MICHAEL DEFORGE
KOYAMA PRESS
$10
“The latest installment in Michael DeForge’s one man anthology series. Perfect for your friend who’s not afraid to get weird.” – julie


THE FADE OUT (ACT TWO) BY ED BRUBAKER
IMAGE COMICS
$13
“Seedy Hollywood-underbelly noir murder mystery set in the ’40s! Killer art, knockout dialog. Super slick.” – Lee
(First volume available as well)


KILLING AND DYING BY ADRIAN TOMINE
DRAWN & QUARTERLY
$23
“Collection of Optic Nerve #12 – 14. Beautiful and sometimes disturbing stories of everyday life by the master.” – julie


AAMA (BOOK 4) YOU WILL BE GLORIOUS, MY DAUGHTER BY FREDERIK PEETERS
SELF-MADE HERO
$20
“The conclusion to maybe the most stylish and thoughtful hard sci-fi story I have ever read!
2001 meets The Thing meets Solaris but with better characters.” – Lee
(Books 1 – 3 available as well)


THE ETERNAUT BY OESTERHELD & LOPEZ
FANTAGRAPHICS
$40
“A gorgeously designed English language edition of the politically potent Argentinian sci-fi classic. For fans of Ray Bradbury and Kurt Vonnegut.” – Malachi


THE TATTOOED DRAGON MEETS THE WOLFMAN
PRINTED MATTER
$42
“196 page hand-risographed document of hundreds of fanzines, both bizzare and beautiful, with fascinating notation. Anyone that’s into sci-fi paraphernelia or underground eccentricity of any kind will love this collection.” – Malachi

Stay tuned for part two…
-SHQ-

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, stuff we love

2014 Holiday Gift Guide – All Ages Picks!

k9a8_tumblrmf2jbf8U011rudptgo21280

Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.
2014 Holiday Gift Guide Part 5 – All Ages Picks!

k9a8_IMG3564
MR. TOAST BY DAN GOODSELL
Self-Published
$3 Each
The adventures of a piece of toast and his adorable food friends. Get to know Shaky Bacon, Joe The Egg, The Electric Taco, and more!

k9a8_IMG3565
MISADVENTURES OF SALEM HYDE BY FRANK CAMMUSO
Published by Amulet Books
$7
Salem is a little witch still learning the tricks of the trade with the help of her cat familiar. Very reminiscent of Calvin & Hobbes, super funny!

k9a8_IMG3567
MOUSE GUARD: BALDWIN THE BRAVE & OTHER TALES BY DAVID PETERSEN
Published by Archaia
$15
A gorgeous new short story collection from the relam of Mouse Guard. Perfect for fantasy lovers. “Lord Of The Rings” with mice!

k9a8_IMG3572
MUSICAL MONSTERS OF TURKEY HOLLOW BY JIM HENSON & JERRY JUHL
Published by Archaia
$25
Adapted and illustrated by Roger Landridge, this never-filmed television special by Jim Henson is a beautiful and delightful holiday tale. With lovable monsters, tons o’ turkeys, and more, reading this book is like watching a long lost episode of Sesame Street.

k9a8_IMG3566
NANCY LOVES SLUGGO BY ERNIE BUSHMILLER
Published by Fantagraphics
$40
The latest collection of Nancy strips. Hilarious, timeless, and frequently weird as heck. Good inspiration for the headstrong and sassy lil’ lady (or gentleman) in your life.

k9a8_IMG3573
DONALD DUCK SLIPCASE SET BY CARL BARKS
Published by Fantagraphics
$50
Includes the books “Trail Of The Unicorn” and “Lost In The Andes”, which contain 25 classic stories in all! Disney comics never get old, and this set is a great introduction for a new generation.

k9a8_IMG3569-2
MOOMIN: THE DELUXE ANNIVERSARY EDITION BY TOVE JANSSON
Published by Drawn & Quarterly
$70
The COMPLETE Tove Jansson Moomin series, published in celebration of the beloved Finnish creator’s 100th birthday. One massive volume in a beautiful slip case. A true collectable.

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, stuff we love

2014 Holiday Gift Guide Part 4

k9a8_happyhanukkah

Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.

2014 Holiday Gift Guide Part 4 – All (Books) Great And Small

k9a8_IMG20141210130038161HDR
KOREAN AMERICAN EVERDAY COOKING & CREATURE COMFORT COOKING
BY SUNG YOON CHOI & ERIC WATKINS
Self-Published
$4 Each
Cute relationship comics + cats + perfectly illustrated, easy to follow Korean food recipes? These zines have everything! Bonus: made by a local team.

k9a8_jordancranesmall
THE MIDDLE NOWHERE BY JORDAN CRANE
Self-Published
$10
The first new story in years by indie master Jordan Crane! Made for Comic Arts LA mere weeks ago, these things are strictly one print run ONLY and disappearing.

k9a8_IMG20141210122714567HDR
k9a8_IMG20141210122736168HDR
DON’T LEAVE ME ALONE BY GG
Self-Published
$12
Beautifully risographed, sad, and quiet story of a girl and her father one fated night. Imported from the great white North, we’re the only store where you can snag this zine!

k9a8_IMG20141210141134178
EPOXY #5 BY JOHN PHAM
Self-Published
$18
Mind blowing art and format. Really several zines in one (and a print? and magazine?), this is Pham’s best work yet. Epoxy #5 will impress, well, anyone.

k9a8_IMG20141210130210772HDR
HERE BY ROBERT MCGUIRE
Published by Pantheon
$35
This brand new arrival needs to be talked about: Here is astounding, innovative, and moving. An incredible example of what comics can be. This one hit us like a train, it’s a must read!

k9a8_IMG20141210140844835HDR
JOHN BUSCEMA’S SILVER SURFER ARTIST’S EDITION
Published by IDW
$100
Three full issues of John Buscema’s classic Silver Surfer run, plus tons of extra covers and pages. Scientifically proven to bestow upon the reader the Power Cosmic.

k9a8_IMG20141210130241650
k9a8_IMG20141210130430293HDR
LITTLE NEMO: DREAM ANOTHER DREAM
Published by Locust Moon Press
$125
All of your favorite artists (seriously) give their own unique interpretation of Winsor McCay’s classic Little Nemo comic strip. From the sublime to the horrific, it’s all here in this impressive, oversized volume.

k9a8_IMG20141210141100690HDR
75 YEARS OF MARVEL
Published by Taschen
$200
The ultimate Marvel book. 700 pages, 2,000 images, 300 biographies, 4 foot long timeline, oh jeeze… it’s just glorious.

k9a8_IMG20141210130837927HDR
THE COMPLETE ZAP COMIX
Published by Fantagraphics
$500
Over 20 pounds of classic underground goodness. Every Zap cover and issue ever made, including the previous unpublished #17! For the person on your (very) nice list.

k9a8_ScreenShot20141213at32824PM_1
We have incredible original art for sale by Geof Darrow! Great as a one-of-a-kind gift for anyone (including you. Go ahead, treat yo self.) Available for purchase in store and online.

Stay tuned for the final installment: All Ages Picks!
<3 SHQ & TY P.S. We now offer gift registries for both Secret Headquarters and Thank You! Just come in, fill out a wishlist, and send your family and friends our way so they know exactly what your heart desires.

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, stuff we love
The Secret Headquarters
3817 W Sunset Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90026

Mon - Sat 11-9 / Sun 12-7
tel 323.666.2228
shq@thesecretheadquarters.com

Dungeon Dungeon
435 S. Spring Street
Los Angeles, CA 90013
(Inside The Last Bookstore)

Mon - Thu 10-10 / Fri-Sat 10-11 / Sun 10-6
tel 323.666.2228
dm@dungeondungeon.com