2017 Holiday Gift Guide Part One


Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.

2017 Holiday Gift Guide Part One – Julie’s Picks


ATOMAHAWK
Image Comics
$6
This. Book. Is. BONKERS. Funny, bloody, wholly unique sci-fi fantasy adventure with outstanding art.


I’M NOT HERE
Koyama Press
$12
A quiet, haunting story of identity from a rising star in comics.


CASE OF THE MISSING MEN
Conundrum
$20
“Nancy Drew meets David Lynch” – extremely accurate pitch for this book. My favorite graphic novel to come out this year,
a must read if you’d like to have your mind blown by something freaky.


THE INTERVIEW
Fantagraphics
$25
Gorgeous near-future sci-fi tale that manages to feel personal and small while telling
a story of the world changing on an gigantic scale.


PAPER GIRLS VOLUME ONE
Image Comics
$35
Stranger Things meets Goonies meets something entirely new and insane!
Utterly surprising and extremely fun sci-fi from the creator of Saga and Y The Last Man.
This hardcover collects volumes 1 and 2.


ART OF JAIME HERNANDEZ STUDIO EDITION
Fantagraphics
$150
Oh hey a giant, gorgeous book filled with art by the greatest living cartoonist.
Interviews, process pieces, full stories… this book has everything for
the most die hard Love & Rockets fans.

Stay tuned for part two…
-SHQ-

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide

2016 Holiday Hours


Thursday, December 24th
Christmas Eve
11am – 5pm

Friday, December 25th
Christmas Day, closed!

Thursday, December 31st
New Year’s Eve
11am – 5pm

Friday, January 1st
New Year’s Day, closed!

Posted in Events, Holiday Gift Guide

Holiday Gift List 2016 – Part Two


SECRET HEADQUARTERS & DUNGEON DUNGEON
HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE

Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.

2016 Holiday Gift Guide Part Two – Dave & Malachi’s Picks


SPOOKY
SHQ Publishing
$5
Drawings of all the best Halloween stuff from elementary school, (i.e. bats, cats, and witches)
mixed with all the best stuff from High School (i.e. tits.) -Dave


ANCESTOR
Image Comics
$15
A story told through thoughtful panels and inspired color, this book is the answer to two questions you might have as you watch Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey. “This is really something else, but man would I love to get what the hell is going on…” and “Ok great, space baby, now what?” -Dave


THE LONGEST DAY OF THE FUTURE
Fantagraphics Books
$25
A funny, beautifully drawn, and almost completely wordless comic thriller where there are only two mega-corporations competing for world dominance. For fans of Jason, Terry Gilliam’s Brazil, and not reading. -Malachi


EPOXY MAGAZINE
Self-Published
$30
John Pham keeps outdoing himself with his most ambitious hand printed tour de force yet. Filled with absurd maps, puzzles, stickers, and comics inside comics inside comics. This is for anyone that enjoys the art in ephemera, whether they’re into comic books or not. -Malachi


ZUGZWANG
Hidari Zingaro Gallery
$40
The official description: Zugzwang is a catalog of new James Jean work exhibited at Hidari Zingaro Gallery in Tokyo, curated by Takashi Murakami. Also included in the volume are exploratory and ancillary works created in the same period, as well as process images. The unofficial description: Holy shit this guy can draw. -Dave


MOEBIUS: WORLD OF EDENA
Dark Horse Comics
$50
The day has finally arrived. Newly translated and impeccably printed, this book collects the long out of print Edena work in English. This gorgeous hardcover brings you a story from one of the greatest creators
of science fiction in any medium. -Malachi


AND, just in time for the holidays, we have a brand new shirt designed by the extremely talented Jordan Crane. Make passersby unbelievably jealous as your torso exclaims, “I have been to the world’s best comic book shop!” Kid and adult sizes available in both black and white. Grab one in store or through our online shop.

Stay tuned for part three…
-SHQ-

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, stuff we love

2016 Holiday Gift List – Part One


SECRET HEADQUARTERS & DUNGEON DUNGEON
HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE

Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.

2016 Holiday Gift Guide Part One – Julie & Lee’s Picks


SCULLY
SHQ Publishing
$6
Everybody’s favorite skeptic stars in her own zine! All Dana all the time. -Julie


PAPER GIRLS VOL 1 & 2
Image Comics
$10, $12.99
Stranger Things meets Goonies meets something entirely unique and insane!
Utterly surprising and extremely fun sci-fi from the creator of Saga and Y The Last Man. -Julie


HAPPINESS VOL 1 & 2
Vertical
$13 each
Very stylish Vampire manga! Like a fun Japanese Let the Right One In, from the guy
who brought you the ultra creepy Flowers of Evil. –Lee


CAT RACKHAM
Koyama Press
$20
The saddest, funniest comic that everyone should know about is finally back in print.
I love, love, love this book. -Julie


COSPLAYERS
Fantagraphics Books
$23
This handful of unique short stories revolving around two young women going to different themed
conventions is charming, clever, and hilarious – no knowledge of the subculture required!
Has sort of a Ghost World vibe to it. Just good jokes and cool ideas. –Lee


FADE OUT COMPLETE COLLECTION
Image Comics
$50
The Fade Out is the ideal Hollywood period-piece noir murder mystery. This edition binds the entire series together in one beautiful hardcover and was edited very thoroughly and thoughtfully – the colors, the paper… it’s perfect.
Ed, Sean, and Elizabeth are one of the best teams working in comics, and they just really nailed it. –Lee

Stay tuned for part two…
-SHQ-

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, stuff we love

2015 Holiday Gift Guide – All Ages Picks


Hello everyone! It’s that special time of year again, when we show our loved ones how much they mean to us by giving them the most precious gift of all – comics! Over the next several weeks we’ll be sharing some of our very favorite things with you. We are sure you and your lucky gift-recievers will love them as much as we do.

2015 Holiday Gift Guide Part Four – All Ages Picks


TOON BOOKS
$13 each
For young readers K – 3, there are dozens of Toon Books by today’s best writers and artists. You’ll find books by Neil Gaiman, Renée French, Jeff Smith, Art Spiegelman, Eleanor Davis, and many more. With so many diverse stories and art styles, you’re guaranteed to find something your little friend will love.


GOOSEBUMPS
Scholastic
$13
You can now terrify a child with the same stories that terrified you! The circle of life.


ARCHIE 1,000 PAGE COLLECTIONS
Archie Comics
$15 each
You can’t get much better than a massive Archie collection for less than 2 cents a page. Great for the young, the old, and anyone who wants to have a good old fashioned time hanging out with their pals from Riverdale.


BATMAN ADVENTURES
DC Comics
$20 each
The classic all ages Batman series from the ’90s is finally back in print! Perfect for the budding vigilante.


SEE SPOT SHRED BY DYLAN GOLDBERG
Self-Published
$25
Alphabet picture book about skateboarding dogs. WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT. Adorable from Afgan to Zuchon.


MARVELS BY BRIAN SELZNICK
Scholastic
$33
The latest tome from the man who brought you The Invention Of Hugo Cabret and Wonderstruck. Contains two stories: one prose, and one beautifully illustrated.


LUMBERJANES: TO THE MAX EDITION
Boom! Comics
$40
Contains the first two volumes of the hit series! Summer camp, friendship, werewolves, mermaids… this book has everything. One of the best and most popular all ages series of the year.


MICKEY MOUSE AND DONALD DUCK BOX SETS
Fantagraphics
$50 each
Wonderful, timeless stories. Two books per set in lovely slipcovers; Fantagraphics is the king of classic comic reprints and you’ll be sharing these for generations to come.

Posted in Holiday Gift Guide, stuff we love
The Secret Headquarters
3817 W Sunset Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90026

Mon - Sat 11-9 / Sun 12-7
tel 323.666.2228
shq@thesecretheadquarters.com

Dungeon Dungeon
435 S. Spring Street
Los Angeles, CA 90013
(Inside The Last Bookstore)

Mon - Thu 10-10 / Fri-Sat 10-11 / Sun 10-6
tel 323.666.2228
dm@dungeondungeon.com